top of page

Outstanding Achievement Award

Every year at the annual conference we present an award to a senior figure who has made a significant contribution to the discipline. Awards have been presented to both academics and industry practitioners.

Previous Recipients of BAFTSS's Outstanding Achievement Award

2021: Amma Asante (director/writer): view interview between Asante and Shelly Cobb, recorded as part of the BAFTSS conference, here.

2020: Mark Cousins (filmmaker and critic): see here for his acceptance message


2019: Pam Cook (Southampton)


2018: Tony Garnett (producer)


2018: Ken Loach (filmmaker)


2018: Susan Hayward (Exeter – Emeritus)


2017: Steve Neale (Exeter - Emeritus)


2016: Sue Harper (Portsmouth – Emeritus Professor) Read Sue Harper's

keynote here.


2015: John Akomfrah (filmmaker)


2014: Christine Geraghty (Bedfordshire)


2013: Richard Dyer (Kings College London)


2012: Laura Mulvey (Birkbeck)

Pam Cook's acceptance message, 2019

bottom of page